23 Magical Books Like Harry Potter For Kids To Read

In terms of intrigue, interesting characters, and overall awesomeness, the Harry Potter series easily ranks among the best books of our time. We have compiled a list of the top novels like Harry Potter that will transport your kids to a magical new world if they enjoy the genre. Young readers enjoy these novels and will be captivated by their stories. But if you’re searching for books that will introduce your child to magic and fantasy beyond Hogwarts, we’ve got a selection. Therefore, we offer you a list of fantastic books, similar to the Harry Potter books, that are sure to enchant your child.

23 Magical Books Like Harry Potter For Kids

Best Classic Fantasy Series: The Lord of the Rings Series

The Lord of the Rings Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: J.R R. Tolkien

In 1955, the first book in the “The Lord of the Rings” fantasy series was released to the public. At the beginning of the novel, a dark lord named Sauron forges a supreme ring to overcome the power of other magical rings. However, Sauron’s ring is misplaced, and subsequent circumstances bring it to a hobbit by the name of Bilbo Baggins. The remainder of the book focuses on Bilbo’s adventures into the unknown and the mystical, all of which are empowered by the ring.

Best Mythological Fantasy: Percy Jackson & The Olympians Series

 Percy Jackson & The Olympians Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Rick Riordan

The secret of Percy Jackson’s demi-godhood, that he is half-blood like Hercules, is revealed to him by his mother. However, there are risks and difficulties associated with becoming a demi-god. In the first in a five-book saga, Percy soon finds himself pitted against demons while attempting to safeguard humanity.

Best Dystopian: The Hunger Games Series

The Hunger Games Box Set: Foil Edition

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Suzanne Collins

‘The Hunger Games’ takes place in a dystopian version of North America divided into districts, the Capitol being the most prominent of all. The rebel districts attack Capitol but are ultimately defeated. The Capitol negotiates peace by mandating that each district send a teen boy and girl to compete in a series of annual contests known as “The Hunger Games.”

Katniss, a young woman from District 12, is the protagonist of the novel. Is she going to live or die in this game of “battle to the death”? Throughout the course of the trilogy, “The Hunger Games” presents a number of fantastical elements.

Best Narrative Style: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Ransom Riggs

After a terrible incident, sixteen-year-old Jacob travels to a remote island off the coast of Great Britain to start over. There, Jacob comes across a deserted home that has the archives of a former orphanage, complete with images. Jacob is confused as to why there is an orphanage so distant from the continent. It’s possible the kids there are dangerous and might still be alive. Jacob has unwittingly opened a proverbial Pandora’s box.

Best Supernatural: The Golden Compass: His Dark Materials

His Dark Materials

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Philip Pullman

The protagonist of this book is a little girl named Lyra, and her journey takes place in Arctic. Warlike polar bears and witch covens rule the Arctic. Aside from being home to her terrifying uncle, it is also an area where children are frequently kidnapped. But the young girl is set on making the journey, as she must find her kidnapped companion Roger and usher in a revolutionary new era for the globe.

Best Mythical Characters: The Chronicles of Narnia Series

The Chronicles of Narnia Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: C. S. Lewis

The first book in “The Chronicles of Narnia” was published in 1956, and the series consists of seven volumes. Aslan, a talking lion, and Jadis, a wicked witch, end their truce in this enchanted kingdom of Narnia tale. In the midst of the conflict, four siblings embark on an adventure when they discover a wardrobe leading to the land of Narnia. Any child reading this book will be enthralled by its fantastical creatures and intriguing personalities.

Best Adventure: Watership Down

Watership Down

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Richard Adams

The plot follows a band of rabbits as they discover that the area they’ve lived on for generations is about to be destroyed by humans and relocate to the city. Without a new spot to call home, the rabbits will be displaced. This prompted the little animals to go on an adventure in quest of new territory. However, the trip is difficult, and the rabbits have their own issues to resolve.

Best Classic And Whimsical: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Alice in Wonderland)

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Lewis Carroll

This is the classic tale of imagination, exploration, and falling down a “rabbit hole.” In the opening scene of the story, Alice and her sister are relaxing by the river. A bunny suddenly hops by, drawing her attention. When Alice pursues the creature, she falls down a hole and into a fantastical realm populated by talking animals and inanimate things.

Best Adult Fantasy: The Mortal Instrument Series

 The Mortal Instrument Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Cassandra Clare

Six novels in “The Mortal Instruments” fantasy series follow the story of a young woman named Clary Fray. When Clary witnesses a demon being killed, she is dragged into the realm of demons and demon hunters. Warriors known as “Shadowhunters” are responsible for keeping demons in check. In a chain reaction that Clary had nothing to do with starting, she and the Shadowhunters’ fates are irrevocably linked.

Best For Young Readers: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz: 100th Anniversary Edition (Books of Wonder)

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: L. Frank Baum

Since its publication in 1900, “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” has captivated young readers all across the globe. In this tale, a tornado whisks a young girl named Dorothy and her dog named Toto away to a mysterious place they only know as Oz. Witches and flying monkeys populate the realm of Oz. The tin man, the scarecrow, and the cowardly lion all become friends of Dorothy and Toto. They decide to travel to see the great Wizard of Oz in the hopes that he will fulfill their request and enable Dorothy to get back home.

Pennyroyal Academy

Pennyroyal Academy

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: M. A. Larson

Evie joins the ranks of the princesses and knights undergoing training at the Pennyroyal Academy. Every single one of their students is trained to vanquish dragons and witches. In the academy, Evie meets new people, both allies and foes, as well as a tough instructor by the name of Fairy Drillsergeant. After finishing the academy, Evie realizes that the battle against witches and dragons will hit closer to home than she had anticipated.

Inkheart Series

Inkheart Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Cornelia Funke

Meggie’s father reads aloud from the novel “Inkheart” one night while the girl listens attentively. However, this is no ordinary book; magic may be found throughout. An evil monarchy’s villainous leader character enters the actual world. Meggie is thrust into an exciting scenario where she eventually gains magical abilities.

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Michael Scott

In the story, Nicholas Flamel, the protagonist, is nearly 700 years old. In the Book of Abraham the Mage, Nicholas discovers the key to eternal life. However, the villainous Dr. John Dee has discovered this, and he now wants the book. The book will require more than just his efforts this time. The twins, Sophie and Josh, are the only ones who can stop the villainous Dr. Dee from getting their hands on the book, so Nicholas must join forces with them.

The Ranger’s Apprentice Series

The Ranger’s Apprentice Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: John Flanagan

The first of 12 novels titled “The Ranger’s Apprentice,” it tells the tale of a young man named Will who is given an apprenticeship by the Royal Protectors, the Rangers. The Rangers are magicians who defend society against oppression. The first volume recounts Will’s initial exposure to combat and how that event sets the stage for his subsequent exploits with the Rangers. The 12 novels in the set include enough adventure, mystery, and magic to keep the kid entertained for the entire summer.

Dragon Slippers

Dragon Slippers

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Jessica Day George

It is Creel’s aunt’s plan to have her given away to a dragon in the hopes that a brave knight will defeat the beast and win her hand in marriage. As no one has ever seen a dragon, Creel has no concerns about her aunt’s plan. However, Creel’s worst nightmares are realized as a dragon suddenly appears. The dragon is given Creel by her aunt, but the savvy Creel is able to strike a bargain with the beast. In exchange, the dragon presents Creel with a pair of blue footwear. However, these are no average footwear; they contain enough magic to rescue a kingdom.

Redwall

Redwall

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Brian Jacques

This is a fantastical story about a kingdom ruled by mice. Cluny the Scourge, a rat, is invading soon, and he will destroy the calm in their realm. The rodents look into defensive options and find out about a blade that could help them prevail in combat. They need to locate the sword quickly, though, or it will be too late.

Keeper of the Lost Cities

Keeper of the Lost Cities

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Shannon Messenger

Sophie Foster, age 12, has the ability to read minds. Until she meets Fitz, a guy who is also a telepath like her, she thinks her telepathic powers are completely unique. Sophie finds out pretty quickly that the human world was just a hiding place before she was reunited with her telepathic people. She secretly stores away some information before embarking on her journey to the New World.

Beautiful Creatures

Beautiful Creatures Kindle Edition

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Kami Garcia

Little Lena lives in the sleepy hamlet of Gatlin, where she says “nothing ever occurs.” But Lena’s secret abilities end up being her downfall. A young man named Ethan lives on the outskirts of town, and he longs to go. But as soon as Lena comes in next door, Ethan can’t help but notice the pretty new neighbor. They’ve now officially entered the underworld together, and their friendship has begun.

The School for Good and Evil

The School for Good and Evil

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Soman Chainani

The School for Good and Evil is a fantastical institution described in the narrative. Both good and evil schools kidnap children from around the world and send one to each. Both Sophie and Agatha like being taken to school every day.

Sophie is the type of person who is always doing good and who believes she belongs in the academy of good. Agatha’s ruthlessness suggests she might thrive in a villainous academic environment. In contrast to their expectations, the girls find out that they have been accepted to a particular institution. It doesn’t take long for the boys to figure out that the girls were put there on purpose to expose their true selves.

The Five Kingdoms Series

The Five Kingdoms Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Brandon Mull

Cole Randolph, a young boy, and his friends celebrate Halloween in the basement of a haunted mansion in the first episode of the series. The mansion, however, is a gateway to a dark and mysterious magical realm known only as “The Outskirts.” There are 5 kingdoms in this area. When Cole’s pals were sucked into The Outskirts, he has to come to their rescue. There are a total of five novels in “The Five Kingdom Series,” and they chronicle the full story of Cole and his companions and their adventures.

The Dark Is Rising

The Dark Is Rising

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Susan Cooper

Will Stanton finds out he is special on his eleventh birthday. He is one of the Sign-Seekers, a band of ageless super-heroes with the ability to vanquish evil. Will’s epiphany couldn’t have come at a better time, since the malevolent entity known as the “Dark” has now emerged. Will and his companions set out to vanquish Dark once and for all with a weapon powerful enough to do it.

The Inheritance Cycle Series

The Inheritance Cycle Series

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Christopher Paolini

Teenager Eragon finds a mysterious blue stone in the woods in the first book of the ‘The Inheritance Cycle’ series. Eventually, Eragon discovers that the blue stone is actually a dragon egg, and he is the proud parent of a baby dragon. The dragon eventually becomes domesticated. In no time at all, Eragon is transported to a magical realm, where he must use only his sword and his dragon to vanquish the forces of evil.

The Underland Chronicles

The Underland Chronicles

BUY ON AMAZON

Author: Suzanne Collins

The protagonist, a small child named Gregor, is introduced to the reader after he accidentally falls through a vent in his New York City apartment. After his fall, Gregor discovers the fantastic metropolis of Underland, where people and huge rats and cockroaches coexist. However, not everything is fine. The humans and the monsters of the Underland are on the verge of starting a war. It has been prophesied that Gregor will bring order to the Underland, and now is the time for him to do so.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *